Disclaimer: The information contained herein is being presented to the HuronValleyGuns.com website users only as reference material to assist in the making of informed purchasing decisions; however, it is not intended to constitute legal advice nor counsel in determining compliance of the purchaser's Federal, State and Local gun laws, regulations and restrictions. HuronValleyGuns.com has used reasonable effort in providing this information, from sources deemed reliable, but does not warrant or guarantee the completeness, accuracy, adequacy or currency of the information contained herein, or linked to or from this website. The information provided here is presented as an overview to the myriad of laws, regulations and restrictions in selling to, and shipping into, the HuronValleyGuns.com customer's State, to be in compliance of that State's laws pertaining to restrictions of: firearms, dangerous weapons, ammunition, magazine round capacities, stun guns, Tasers, accessories, etc. Federal, State and Local gun laws are constantly changing, therefore, it is incumbent upon the purchaser to be thoroughly knowledgeable of the current status of Federal, State and Local gun laws governing their community, to assure that they are in compliance with those laws, regulations and restrictions.
|WYOMING GUN LAWS - OVERVIEW|
WY Stat. Ann. § 6-8-102, et seq.
Types of Illegal Firearms
Possession, sale, transfer, or manufacture of the below firearms is illegal:
Waiting Period Before Purchase
Who May Not Own Guns
Wyoming prohibits several different categories of individuals from owning or possessing pistols:
Laws Prohibiting Firearms On or Near School Grounds
No state permit is required to purchase a rifle, shotgun or handgun. A person in lawful possession of a concealed firearm permit issued by this state shall be exempt from a NICS check when purchasing a firearm.
The information required by federal law to be maintained on firearms shall be kept by every wholesaler, retailer, pawnbroker and dealer in firearms in the place of business of the wholesaler, retailer, pawnbroker or dealer, and shall be subject to inspection by any peace officer at all reasonable times.
|Stun Guns/Tasers Restrictions|
State Statute or Definition: (6-1-104 Defined as weapon, but legal.)
No state permit is required to possess a rifle, shotgun or handgun.
Wyoming respects the right of law abiding citizens to openly carry a handgun.
Any person 21 years of age or older, who is not prohibited possessor, may carry a weapon openly or concealed without the need for a license.
All non-residents must possess a permit issued by the state of their residence. A Wyoming resident may also apply for a concealed carry permit issued by this state in order to be able to carry concealed in those states requiring a permit.
The attorney general is authorized to issue permits to carry a concealed firearm to persons qualified by this section. Applications for a concealed carry permit shall be made available and distributed by the division of criminal investigation and local law enforcement agencies. The permit shall be valid statewide for a period of 5 years from the date of issuance. When a permittee is carrying a concealed firearm they shall have valid identification along with the carry permit to display upon request of a peace officer.
A permit shall be issued to anyone who:
An applicant is ineligible if they have been:
The applicant must demonstrate familiarity with a firearm. A legible photocopy of a certificate of completion of any of the courses or classes or a notarized affidavit from the instructor, school, club, organization, or group that conducted or taught the course or class attesting the completion of the course or class by the applicant or a copy of any document which shows completion of the course or class or evidences participation of a firearms competition, shall constitute evidence of qualification under this paragraph. Any (1) of the following activities listed in shall be sufficient to demonstrate familiarity with a firearm:
The division may deny or revoke a permit if the applicant has been found guilty of or has pled nolo contendere to one (1) or more crimes of violence constituting a misdemeanor offense within the three (3) year period prior to the date on which the application is submitted.
An applicant shall submit to the division through the sheriff’s office in the county of the applicant’s residence:
The sheriff of the applicant’s residence shall submit a written report to the division containing any information that he feels may be pertinent to the issuance of a permit to any applicant. The written report shall state facts known to the sheriff which establish reasonable grounds to believe that the applicant has been or is reasonably likely to be a danger to himself or others, or to the community at large as a result of the applicant’s mental or psychological state, as demonstrated by a past pattern or practice of behavior, or participation in incidents involving a controlled substance, alcohol abuse, violence or threats of violence as these incidents relate to criteria listed in this section. The written report shall be made within 30 days after the date the sheriff receives the copy of the application.
The sheriff of the applicant’s county of residence may, at his discretion, submit a written report to the division recommending immediate issuance of a concealed firearms permit prior to the mandatory fingerprint processing. The written recommendation shall specifically state that the sheriff has personal knowledge that the applicant is qualified to be issued a permit.
The sheriff of the applicant’s county of residence may, at his discretion, submit a written report to the division recommending the issuance of a concealed firearm permit to an applicant between the ages eighteen (18) and twenty-one (21) years of age who meets the requirements specified in this section. The written recommendation shall specifically state that the sheriff has personal knowledge of the applicant’s situation or circumstances which warrant the issuance of a concealed firearms permit.
The division shall within sixty (60) days of receiving all application items:
The division shall maintain an automatic listing of permit holders and pertinent information, and the information shall be available on-line, upon request, and at all times to Wyoming law enforcement agencies.
Within thirty (30) days after changing your permanent address, or within thirty (30) days after a lost or destruction of a permit, any permittee shall notify the division. Violation of this section may result in cancellation of the permit.
A permit issued under this section shall be revoked by the division:
The permittee may renew his permit on or before the expiration date by filing with the sheriff of the applicant’s county of residence the renewal form, a notarized affidavit stating that the permittee remains qualified pursuant to the criteria specified in previous sections and the required renewal fee.
No person authorized to carry a concealed weapon pursuant to the previous sections shall carry a concealed weapon into:
All monies collected pursuant to this purpose shall be deposited in the general fund.
All funds received by the sheriff pursuant to this section shall be deposited in the general fund.
Wyoming law does not prohibit the lawful possession of machine guns. Thus, it is lawful to possess, purchase, or sell a machine gun that is legally registered and possessed in compliance with all federal laws and regulations.
No person shall take into or possess in the game fields or forests of Wyoming any fully automatic weapon or device designed to silence or muffle the report of any firearm.
|ANTIQUES, CURIOSITIES AND REPLICAS (C&R)|
Wyoming statutes are silent on antique and replica firearms. Firearms that expel any projectile by the action of an explosive are treated as ordinary firearms for possession and carrying purposes.
The use of firearms is prohibited in all state parks, campgrounds, recreational grounds, historic landmarks, or historic sites unless otherwise designated by the state Fish and Game Commission.
An archery hunter may possess a firearm for the purpose of self-defense during special archery or limited quota archery only hunting season. However, firearms may not be used to take game during an archery only season.
It is unlawful to: hunt, shoot, or attempt to kill any wildlife from any public road or highway; enter upon the private property of any person to hunt, fish, or trap without the permission of the owner or person in charge of the property; fire any firearm from, upon, along, or across any public road or highway; knowingly fire any rifle from the enclosed lands of one person onto or across the enclosed lands of another without the permission of both persons; and hunt at night upon privately owned or leased lands except with written permission of the landowner or lessee.
It is unlawful to harass, pursue, hunt, shoot, or kill any Wyoming wildlife except predatory animals with, from, or by use of any flying machine, automotive vehicle, trailer, motor-propelled wheeled vehicle, or vehicle designed for travel over snow. The state Fish and Game Commission may exempt handicapped hunters from this provision.
No city, town, or county shall authorize, regulate or prohibit the sale, transfer, purchase, delivery, taxation, manufacture, ownership, transportation, storage, use or possession of firearms, weapons and ammunition.
The Attorney General may seek to intervene in any lawsuit filed in any state or federal court in Wyoming, or filed against any Wyoming citizen or firm in any other jurisdiction for damages for injuries as a result of the use of firearms that are not defective, if in his judgment, the action endangers the constitutional right of the citizens of Wyoming to keep and bear arms. Before intervening in any lawsuit pursuant to this section, the Attorney General shall obtain the approval of the Governor.
A license and carry permit must be presented upon request of a peace officer.
The sale, transfer, purchase, delivery, taxation, manufacture, ownership, transportation, storage, use and possession of firearms, weapons and ammunition shall be authorized, regulated and prohibited by the state, and regulation thereof is preempted by the state.
WY Stat. Ann. §§ 6-8-102, et seq.
|Last edited: 6/21/2016|