Disclaimer: The information contained herein is being presented to the HuronValleyGuns.com website users only as reference material to assist in the making of informed purchasing decisions; however, it is not intended to constitute legal advice nor counsel in determining compliance of the purchaser's Federal, State and Local gun laws, regulations and restrictions. HuronValleyGuns.com has used reasonable effort in providing this information, from sources deemed reliable, but does not warrant or guarantee the completeness, accuracy, adequacy or currency of the information contained herein, or linked to or from this website. The information provided here is presented as an overview to the myriad of laws, regulations and restrictions in selling to, and shipping into, the HuronValleyGuns.com customer's State, to be in compliance of that State's laws pertaining to restrictions of: firearms, dangerous weapons, ammunition, magazine round capacities, stun guns, Tasers, accessories, etc. Federal, State and Local gun laws are constantly changing, therefore, it is incumbent upon the purchaser to be thoroughly knowledgeable of the current status of Federal, State and Local gun laws governing their community, to assure that they are in compliance with those laws, regulations and restrictions.
|KANSAS GUN LAWS - OVERVIEW|
Kansas Statutes Chapter 21, Article 26; Chapter 75, Article 7c: Firearms
Types of Illegal Firearms
Possession, sale, transfer, or manufacture of the below firearms is illegal:
Waiting Period Before Purchase
Who May Not Own Guns
Kansas prohibits several different categories of individuals from owning or possessing pistols:
Laws Prohibiting Firearms On or Near School Grounds
|No state permit is required to purchase a rifle, shotgun, or handgun.
It is unlawful knowingly to sell, give or otherwise transfer any firearm with a barrel less than 12 inches to any person under 18.
It is unlawful knowingly to sell, give or otherwise transfer any firearm to:
It is unlawful knowingly to sell, give or otherwise transfer any firearm to any habitual drunkard or narcotics addict.
Kansas has enacted a law enabling its residents to purchase rifles or shotguns from licensed dealers in contiguous and non-contiguous states, provided the purchase complies with the laws of Kansas and of the state of purchase, and with all federal requirements.
|Stun Guns/Tasers Restrictions|
|State Statute or Definition: (21-4201 Defined as weapon, but legal.)
|No state permit is required to purchase a rifle, shotgun, or handgun.
It is unlawful for the following persons to possess firearms:
Possession of a firearm on the grounds of or in the state capitol building, or within any other state-owned or leased building if the secretary of administration has so designated by rules and regulations and conspicuously placed signs clearly stating that firearms are prohibited within such building, and within any county courthouse, unless, by county resolution, the board of county commissioners authorize the possession of a firearm within such courthouse.
It is unlawful for a narcotics addict or habitual drunkard to possess any firearm.
It is unlawful for a person less than 18 years of age to knowingly possess a firearm with a barrel less than 12 inches long. It shall be a defense if such person less than 18 years of age was: in attendance at a hunter’s safety course or a firearms safety course; engaging in practice in the use of such firearm or target shooting at an established range authorized by the governing body of the jurisdiction in which such range is located; engaging in an organized competition involving the use of such firearm; hunting or trapping pursuant to a valid license; traveling with any such firearm in such person’s possession being unloaded to or from any activity described in the above paragraphs, only if such firearm is secured, unloaded and outside the immediate access of such person; on real property under the control of such person’s parent, legal guardian or grandparent and who has the permission of such parent, legal guardian or grandparent to possess such firearm; or at such person’s residence and who, with the permission of such person’s parent or legal guardian, possesses such firearm for the purpose of exercising the rights of defense.
|State law does not generally prohibit the open carrying of a handgun.
Any person who can legally own a firearm may concealed carry if they are 21 or over. No permit/license is required.
The attorney general shall issue licenses to carry concealed weapons to qualified persons. These licenses are valid throughout the state for a period of four years from the date of issuance.
Verification by law enforcement that a person holds a valid license to carry a concealed weapon may be accomplished by a record check using the person’s vehicle tag and driver’s license information.
A valid license, issued by any other state or the District of Columbia, to carry concealed weapons shall be recognized in this state, but only while the holder is not a resident of Kansas, the standards for issuance of such state licenses or permits are equal or greater than Kansas standards. The attorney general will maintain and publish a list of such states.
The attorney general shall issue a license to carry a concealed weapon if the applicant:
The attorney general shall adopt procedures and standards for an eight-hour safety and training course. The applicant shall pay the cost of the weapons safety and training course. Satisfactory completion of the course is demonstrated by evidence of completion of the course, in the form provided by the regulations adopted by the attorney general or an affidavit from the instructor, school, club or organization that conducted or taught such course attesting to the completion of the course.
Prior to renewal of the license the licensee shall submit evidence to the attorney general that the licensee has prequalified by completion of an approved course given by an instructor of an approved weapons safety and training course.
The applicant shall submit to the sheriff of the county where the applicant resides, during any normal business hours: a completed application; a non-refundable fee of $132.50. if the applicant has not previously been issued a statewide license or if the applicant's license has permanently expired; the applicant must provide a photocopy of a certificate or a document verifying that the applicant has completed a weapons training and safety course, and a full frontal view photograph taken within the preceding 30 days.
The sheriff shall provide for the full set of fingerprints of the applicant to be taken and forwarded to the attorney general for the purposes of a criminal history records check. The sheriff shall also forward a copy of the application and $110.00 of the original license fee, or $50.00 of the renewal license fee, to the attorney general. The cost of taking such fingerprints shall be included in the portion of the fee retained by the sheriff.
The sheriff may participate in the licensing process by submitting a voluntary report to the attorney general containing readily accessible information, corroborated by public records, which when combined with another enumerated factor, establishes that the applicant poses a significantly greater threat to law enforcement and the public than the average citizen.
Each applicant shall be subject to a state and national criminal history records check for the purpose of verifying the identity of the applicant and whether the applicant has been convicted of any crime that would disqualify the applicant from holding a license. The attorney general, for the purposes of determining the applicant’s eligibility only, may access criminal records that have been expunged by the court.
The attorney general has 180 days to issue or deny the license. The denial must be based solely on whether the applicant fails to qualify under the criteria for receiving a concealed handgun license, and the information provided by the sheriff of the residence of the applicant. if the license is denied, the attorney general shall notify the applicant in writing, stating the grounds for denial and informing the applicant of a right to hearing under the administrative procedures act.
Within 30 days after changing any permanent address, or within 30 days after having a license lost or destroyed, the licensee shall notify the attorney general of such change, loss, or destruction. Failure to notify the attorney general may result in the imposition of a fine or revocation of the license. in the event that a concealed weapon license is lost or destroyed, the license shall be automatically invalid. A duplicate may be obtained at a cost of $15, after the licensee furnishes the attorney general with a notarized statement of the loss or destruction.
The attorney general shall suspend or revoke the license of any person who would be ineligible to receive a license at such time or who fails to submit evidence of completion of a weapons safety and training course. The suspension or revocation shall be subject to review by the district court.
The sheriff of a county where a restraining order is issued that would prohibit issuance of a license, shall notify the attorney general immediately upon the receipt of such order. if the person subject to the restraining order holds a concealed weapons license, the attorney general shall immediately revoke the license.
Not less than 90 days prior to the expiration date of the license, the attorney general shall mail to the licensee a written notice of the expiration and a renewal form. The licensee shall renew the license on or before the expiration date by filing with sheriff of the applicant’s county of residence the renewal form, a notarized affidavit that the licensee remains qualified, a full frontal photograph taken within the preceding 30 days, and a nonrefundable license renewal fee not to exceed $25. A licensee who fails to file a renewal application on or before the expiration date of the license must pay an additional late fee of $15. if the licensee is qualified, the license shall be renewed upon receipt by the attorney general. No licensed shall be renewed six months or more after the expiration date of the license, and such application shall be deemed permanently expired. A person whose license has been permanently expired may reapply for licensure, but an application for licensure and fees shall be submitted, and a background investigation shall be conducted.
No license shall authorize the licensee to carry a concealed weapon into:
Nothing in this shall be construed to prevent:
|ANTIQUES, CURIOSITIES AND REPLICAS (C&R)|
|It is unlawful to change, alter, remove or obliterate the name of the maker, model, manufacturer’s number or other identifying mark of any firearm. Possession of such a firearm is prima facie evidence of guilt.
Only the State of Kansas reserves the right to bring suit and recover against any firearms or ammunition manufacturer or federally licensed firearms or ammunition dealer, by or on behalf of the state of or any political subdivision of the state, for damages or relating to the lawful design or sale of firearms or ammunition.
No city or county shall adopt any ordinance, resolution or regulation, and no agent of any city or county shall take any administrative action, governing the purchase, transfer, ownership, storage, or transporting of firearm or ammunition, or any component thereof, other than those expressly authorized by statute. Any such ordinance, resolution or regulation adopted prior to the effective date of this act shall de null and void. For purposes of this section, a statute that does not refer to firearms or ammunition, or components thereof, shall not be construed to provide express authorization. There are some exemptions to this statute.
|No city or county shall adopt any ordinance, resolution or regulation, and no agent of any city or county shall take any administrative action, governing the purchase, transfer, ownership, storage or transporting of firearms or ammunition, or any component or combination thereof.
(a) No city or county shall adopt any ordinance, resolution or regulation, and no agent of any city or county shall take any administrative action, governing the purchase, transfer, ownership, storage or transporting of firearms or ammunition, or any component or combination thereof. Except as provided in subsection (b) and subsection (a) of K.S.A. 75-7c11, and amendments thereto, any such ordinance, resolution or regulation adopted prior to the effective date of this 2007 act shall be null and void.
(b) Nothing in this section shall:
(1) Prohibit a law enforcement officer, as defined in K.S.A. 22-2202, and amendments thereto, from acting within the scope of such officer's duties;
(2) prohibit a city or county from regulating the manner of openly carrying a loaded firearm on one's person; or in the immediate control of a person, not licensed under the personal and family protection act while on property open to the public;
(3) prohibit a city or county from regulating in any manner the carrying of any firearm in any jail, juvenile detention facility, prison, courthouse, courtroom or city hall; or
(4) prohibit a city or county from adopting an ordinance, resolution or regulation requiring a firearm transported in any air, land or water vehicle to be unloaded and encased in a container which completely encloses the firearm or any less restrictive provision governing the transporting of firearms, provided such ordinance, resolution or regulation shall not apply to persons licensed under the personal and family protection act.
(c) Except as provided in subsection (b) of this section and subsection (a) of K.S.A. 75-7c11, and amendments thereto, no person shall be prosecuted or convicted of a violation of any ordinance, resolution or regulation of a city or county which regulates the storage or transportation of a firearm if such person (1) is storing or transporting the firearm without violating any provision of the Kansas criminal code or (2) is otherwise transporting the firearm in a lawful manner.
(d) No person shall be prosecuted under any ordinance, resolution or regulation for transporting a firearm in any air, land or water vehicle if the firearm is unloaded and encased in a container which completely encloses the firearm.
CREDIT(S): Laws 2005, ch. 141, § 10; Laws 2007, ch. 166, § 1, eff. May 3, 2007.
|Kansas Statutes Annotated § 21-4201 through § 21-4206.|
|Last edited: 4/23/2018|